Educate Not (Really?) – Sharon Esther Lampert

Books

Well, Educate Not is quite an honest portrayal of our Education System.  Perhaps certain utterances are a little too piercing.  Sharon Esther Lampert breaks my own silence when she says “No time to teach…No time to learn/All by myself, I got to teach myself a zillion facts…/The first day of school, I gotta be behind.”  Here, I love the use of “Got” and “Gotta.”  Of course, not only is it a parody regarding education, but I can also feel the teacher’s hurried pace.  When we’re moving too quickly, we say things like got, gotta, gonna, wanna, etc., only to be met with a raised eyebrow.  For after all, “I’ma” teacher.

“I Got no time to read,” blurts Ms. Lampert.  “They Weigh IT…The Education System is Dumb.” I can feel my heart beat as she implies—I mean shouts—that our education system is not valued so it’s going to get worse and “waste my money, waste my mind and waste my time.”    The conundrum here, for me, is that she’s speaking about everyone. I can hear her talking to all of us as though it’s a mutually shared experience.  Each one of us has been on one end or the other and some of us have been teachers and students…a double dose.

Finally, that second to the last stanza is priceless for writers…”No time to think…” or let alone, do all the things necessary to create a “Masterpiece.”  Educate Not is about the pitiful state of mediocrity.  What’s worse than not doing anything at all?  Doing it halfway!  Garbage in—Garbage out.  As Ms. Lampert says “I Trash It. I Got No Time for Junk.”  What about you? Let me know your thoughts!  As always – Stay with Sharon and The Write Talk!

Educate Not by Sharon Esther Lampert

No Time to Teach:
In Class, They Give a General Overview.
On Tests, They Want Particular Details.

No Time to Learn:
All By Myself, I Got to Teach Myself a Zillion Facts:
I Got No Study Skills, I Got No Tutor,
The First Day of School, I Gotta Be Behind.

Students Got a Cheat-Sheet:
I Use Citations From Books
I Got No Time to Read.

Teachers Got a Cheat Sheet:
They Got No Time to Read IT.
They Weigh IT:
Looks Beautiful
They Grade IT A.
Looks Pretty
They Grade IT B.
Looks OK
They Grade IT C.
Looks Ugly
They Grade IT D.
Looks Can Kill
They Grade IT F.

Quantity Over Quality:
Education System is Dumb
And is Gonna Get Dumber,
Wastes My Good Dime,
My Good Mind,
And My Good Time.
I Survive, I Don’t Thrive.

Facts Move From Textbook
To Blackboard to Notebook.
Gotta Get the Facts INSIDE of ME:
No Time to Think,
No Time to Write an Outline,
No Time for Research,
No Time to Write a Rough Draft,
No Time to Reread, Revise, and Rewrite,
No Time to Write a Final Draft,
No Time to Write My Masterpiece.
When I Get IT Back, My Work-In-Progress,
I Trash IT. I Got No Time for Junk.

Teachers Got No Time to Teach.
I Got No Time to Learn.
No Time to Educate.
EDUCATE NOT.

If you can, please help keep this teacher who loves to write… keep writing and publishing by voting for Sharon’s Books at https://www.facebook.com/intuit/app_280813488703650?app_data=us-en_showcase_2624_7. Every vote is appreciated.

About sharonsbooks

I am a practical and contemporary urban writer who focuses on readers/participants who are high school age youth and adults. Although I currently write fiction and poetry, I am inspired to write about social and political issues in the sometimes subtle and other times blatant way that they are present in our everyday lives. I love humor and I strive to expand the thought process and create positive change. I realize today, in the scheme of things, that I know only a little. However, I would be remiss if I didn’t share what I’ve learned as I continue to develop my own growth process. In all my writings, I’ve always sought to convey a message from my spiritual center. This keeps me broad-minded regarding diversity and a willingness to learn from anyone and everyone.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Educate Not (Really?) – Sharon Esther Lampert

  1. Najai says:

    This is deep.. A much needed confrontation regarding the forced attitude toward academia. Education for many no longer feels like a power enhancement. It has become disappointing in so many ways. They range from Lay offs of good educators to replacing teachers with technology (online edu) to poor quality teaching materials and the lack thereof in a great number of public schools- Etc. This piece needs to be globally spread?

Leave a Reply

