Approach of Winter – William Carlos Williams

With the passing of Thanksgiving we are all reminded winter is well on its way. For one moment I want us to forget about the obligation of the season and stop to appreciate the beauty of nature that comes with winter. William Carlos Williams is brilliant at summoning the spirit of objects and bringing them to life in ways that make us ponder the meaning of life, or maybe something less deep. I love the splashes of color he includes, “where the salvias, hard carmine–” is Williams speaking just about nature or is he drawing on a deeper meaning about the “Winter” of life. Which garden is he referring to and why does the Garden of Eden come to mind? What are your thoughts? As always – Stay with Sharon and The Write Talk!

Approach of Winter

The half-stripped trees                                                                                                                   struck by a wind together,                                                                                                              bending all,                                                                                                                                            the leaves flutter drily                                                                                                                       and refuse to let go                                                                                                                                or driven like hail                                                                                                                                   stream bitterly out to one side                                                                                                         and fall                                                                                                                                                   where the salvias, hard carmine–                                                                                                     like no leaf that ever was–                                                                                                               edge the bare garden.

William Carlos Williams

About sharonsbooks

I am a practical and contemporary urban writer who focuses on readers/participants who are high school age youth and adults. Although I currently write fiction and poetry, I am inspired to write about social and political issues in the sometimes subtle and other times blatant way that they are present in our everyday lives. I love humor and I strive to expand the thought process and create positive change. I realize today, in the scheme of things, that I know only a little. However, I would be remiss if I didn’t share what I’ve learned as I continue to develop my own growth process. In all my writings, I’ve always sought to convey a message from my spiritual center. This keeps me broad-minded regarding diversity and a willingness to learn from anyone and everyone.
This entry was posted in Culture, Poetry, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

