I’m sick of a Rose – Gwendolyn Brooks

Ah, it’s those that “have” and those that “have less” or “have different” – “the charity children” says Ms. Brooks in “a song in the front yard.” Is the grass always greener on the other side?  You know, “A girl gets sick of a rose.” For whatever reason, this poem reminds me of relationships and routine.  I’m pretty sure that’s not what it’s about exactly, but The Write Talk is about what the poem means to me—and you.  If all I have available is lobster everyday, is it normal to crave something different?  And  if so, what will I do to get it?  Just food for thought…no pun intended.  Having a great time with Ms. Gwendolyn Brooks, a phenomenal poet.  What about you?  As always, stay with Sharon and The Write Talk!  Talk to you soon!

a song in the front yard

I’ve stayed in the front yard all my life.
I want a peek at the back
Where it’s rough and untended and hungry weed grows.
A girl gets sick of a rose.

I want to go in the back yard now
And maybe down the alley,
To where the charity children play.
I want a good time today.

They do some wonderful things.
They have some wonderful fun.
My mother sneers, but I say it’s fine
How they don’t have to go in at quarter to nine.
My mother, she tells me that Johnnie Mae
Will grow up to be a bad woman.
That George’ll be taken to Jail soon or late
(On account of last winter he sold our back gate).

But I say it’s fine. Honest, I do.
And I’d like to be a bad woman, too,
And wear the brave stockings of night-black lace
And strut down the streets with paint on my face.

Gwendolyn Brooks
About sharonsbooks

I am a practical and contemporary urban writer who focuses on readers/participants who are high school age youth and adults. Although I currently write fiction and poetry, I am inspired to write about social and political issues in the sometimes subtle and other times blatant way that they are present in our everyday lives. I love humor and I strive to expand the thought process and create positive change. I realize today, in the scheme of things, that I know only a little. However, I would be remiss if I didn’t share what I’ve learned as I continue to develop my own growth process. In all my writings, I’ve always sought to convey a message from my spiritual center. This keeps me broad-minded regarding diversity and a willingness to learn from anyone and everyone.
This entry was posted in Culture, Diversity, Education, multicultural, Poetry, Women, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m sick of a Rose – Gwendolyn Brooks

  1. Lovely…Got MY attention Sharon…Glad tidings, so buzy with class that I’ve neglected your page. Oh so sorry!~ I know you can relate though 🙂

  2. sharon says:

    As always, thank you my dear friend for the kind words, and I certainly can relate to busy. I wish I could spend more time enjoying poetry and sharing on my blog, but alas…I must work.:-)

Leave a Reply

