Here’s the Written Poem – “Homeless Today”

Photography by Matt Weber

As the writer, this poem is very close to my heart and as a teacher and past social worker, it’s definitely a reality to me. Our homeless population has reached mammoth proportions and women are closing the gap.  Some say that the woman in the poem sounds angry—she is, but it’s not at anyone in particular.  It’s just the fear and pain of everyday living!  What are your thoughts today?  And as always – Stay with Sharon and The Write Talk!  Talk to you soon!

HOMELESS TODAY

Beggar by day

Haunted by night

Dilapidated, wilted and worn

Unmasked in plain sight

The darkness is for warriors

In armor with swords drawn

Peculiar for a woman

In the moments before dawn

I was born into this life

And was hard-heartedly told

It’s not about what’s done to me

It’s to survive and grow old

Falling, falling and spinning

I rapidly descend

In this life, there is no net

you reap what you get in the end

Pug-like eyes of passersby

Mixed with sympathy and despise

Paradoxical teaching of compassion

Enveloped in fearful cries

I yell out loud to you

In my head

Don’t pity or shame me

I’m alive, not dead

Hope springs eternal

Is what a great man once said

This is how I hold on

To live life without dread

So when you walk my way

Don’t cross the street

Embrace the grandeur

inhale the reek

But for those of you who dare

Uplift your head so our eyes will meet

This will surely release us

From both our lies and deceit

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YlWT5yq121s

~Sharon Michele Williams

About sharonsbooks

I am a practical and contemporary urban writer who focuses on readers/participants who are high school age youth and adults. Although I currently write fiction and poetry, I am inspired to write about social and political issues in the sometimes subtle and other times blatant way that they are present in our everyday lives. I love humor and I strive to expand the thought process and create positive change. I realize today, in the scheme of things, that I know only a little. However, I would be remiss if I didn’t share what I’ve learned as I continue to develop my own growth process. In all my writings, I’ve always sought to convey a message from my spiritual center. This keeps me broad-minded regarding diversity and a willingness to learn from anyone and everyone.
This entry was posted in Culture, Diversity, Education, multicultural, Poetry, Women, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Here’s the Written Poem – “Homeless Today”

  1. These are my people, yet until the creator gives the word, I have no home to offer them. I have ministered to them, with th
    em, WE are not seperate and still many know my face and name. It is forbidden for me to hang with them right now, because my higher power needs me stronger, healthier, capable and able to care financially for myself. He wants me to spend a time of growth, inspiration and to be ‘happy.’ It is forbidden because I am willing to do anything to end this reality and my thinking is distorted and I struggle with depression and frustration. My season has been, and I did good. In heaven I am known as a wealthy woman, as I still live as poor as a church mouse. For those of you who may not, can not, or will not relate well tread softy in this area. Spiritually, we will each face our maker and these are his people. The eyes of the Universe are always watching, and many of these people are possibly ‘angels.’ Remember, “There by the grace of God I go, but do not feel guilty. (some of the guys are making hundreds of dollars a day begging, collecting SSI and living that way so they don’t have to pay child support. Trust your insticts.) Peace Out. My hero is so humble and childlike in spirit that she’s probably waiting for the little bit of love…”Good Job my sweet spirited friend.”

    • sharonsbooks says:

      This response is awesome! “In heaven I am known as a wealthy woman, as I still live as poor as a church mouse.” It’s important for all of us to stay grounded in who we “really” are! Thank you for the kind words, my dear friend.

  2. So many beautiful phrases – puglike eyes, paradoxical teachings – and then the closing lines. What a beautiful rendering to humanize street people. This poem almost like a prayer. I think how brave are street-based people. Thank-you for sharing this poem.

Leave a Reply

