Tell It Like It Is – #ErnestHemingway

Well, less is certainly more—The Hemingway way.  For me, this poem magnifies that eventually we tell the truth so just as well start now.  I can’t help but laugh at the grit of this poem.  Yes, I agree.  I can speak the truth…or end up dribbling and drooling the truth. Have it your way says Hemingway!  The Old Man and the Sea and For Whom the Bell Tolls are great works, but the brevity and “matter-of-fact/take it or leave it” spirit in his poetry really speaks to me.  What about you?

As always – Stay with Sharon and The Write Talk!  Talk to you soon!

Ultimately

He tried to spit out the truth;
Dry-mouthed at first,
He drooled and slobbered in the end;
Truth dribbling his chin.

~Ernest Hemingway

About sharonsbooks

I am a practical and contemporary urban writer who focuses on readers/participants who are high school age youth and adults. Although I currently write fiction and poetry, I am inspired to write about social and political issues in the sometimes subtle and other times blatant way that they are present in our everyday lives. I love humor and I strive to expand the thought process and create positive change. I realize today, in the scheme of things, that I know only a little. However, I would be remiss if I didn’t share what I’ve learned as I continue to develop my own growth process. In all my writings, I’ve always sought to convey a message from my spiritual center. This keeps me broad-minded regarding diversity and a willingness to learn from anyone and everyone.
This entry was posted in Culture, Education, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tell It Like It Is – #ErnestHemingway

  1. Pingback: Ernest Hemingway’s anti-war poems | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

