Tek a little trouble brothah, wid yo’se’f – More #PaulLaurenceDunbar

This dialect poem from Mr. Dunbar is just plain fun to read and it carries a message that is just as important today as it was 100 years ago.  I  love the “Advice!”  I don’t know about you, but I need to be reminded about the simple things.  Don’t compare myself to others because I will always come up short.  Any kind of worry keeps me in the past and in the future while I miss today.  And finally, take a little time everyday to center myself so that I don’t take myself (and everyone else) so seriously!  Hang loose from Sharon – with The Write Talk!  I would love to hear from you.  Talk to you soon!

Advice

W’EN you full o’ worry
‘Bout yo’ wo’k an’ sich,
W’en you kind o’ bothered
Case you can’t get rich,
An’ yo’ neighboh p’ospah
Past his jest desu’ts,
An’ de sneer of comerds
Stuhes yo’ heaht an’ hu’ts,
Des don’ pet yo’ worries,
Lay ’em on de she’f,
Tek a little trouble
Brothah, wid yo’se’f.
Ef a frien’ comes mou’nin’
‘Bout his awful case,
You know you don’ grieve him
Wid a gloomy face,
But you wrassle wid him,
Try to tek him in;
Dough hit cracks yo’ features,
Law, you smile lak sin,
Ain’t you good ez he is?
Don’ you pine to def;
Tek a little trouble
Brothah, wid yo’se’f.
Ef de chillun pestahs,
An’ de baby’s bad,
Ef yo’ wife gits narvous,
An’ you’re gettin’ mad,
Des you grab yo’ boot-strops,
Hol’ yo’ body down,
Stop a-tinkin’ cuss-w’rds,
Chase away de frown,
Knock de haid o’ worry,
Twell dey ain’ none lef’;
Tek a little trouble,
Brothah, wid yo’se’f.

Paul Laurence Dunbar
About sharonsbooks

I am a practical and contemporary urban writer who focuses on readers/participants who are high school age youth and adults. Although I currently write fiction and poetry, I am inspired to write about social and political issues in the sometimes subtle and other times blatant way that they are present in our everyday lives. I love humor and I strive to expand the thought process and create positive change. I realize today, in the scheme of things, that I know only a little. However, I would be remiss if I didn’t share what I’ve learned as I continue to develop my own growth process. In all my writings, I’ve always sought to convey a message from my spiritual center. This keeps me broad-minded regarding diversity and a willingness to learn from anyone and everyone.
This entry was posted in Culture, Diversity, Education, multicultural, Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tek a little trouble brothah, wid yo’se’f – More #PaulLaurenceDunbar

  1. ericjbaker says:

    I think some of our biggest woes come from comparing ourselves to others.

    A lot of wisdom in the simplicity of that poem.

  2. Albino I appear, but was raised inter-racially and my heart bursts with street! Just luv’d it! It is REAL!

  3. sharonsbooks says:

    Thank you Eric and Rosemarie. I love the dialogue!

Leave a Reply

