All About Poe – Edgar Allan Poe

“Alone” (excerpt)

From childhood’s hour I have not been
As others were–I have not seen
As others saw–I could not bring
My passions from a common spring–
From the same source I have not taken
My sorrow–I could not awaken
My heart to joy at the same tone–
And all I Lov’d–I lov’d alone…

Who’s the man? Poe’s the man! This is a great poem published post-mortem. At one time, it was a little controversial as to its authenticity, but it became a favorite. In it’s entirety it’s a little dark. However, for me, it’s all about feeling different or perhaps being unique. Whether you see the glass half empty or half full, if it’s different from what others see… Your skin was made to fit you alone as mine was made to fit me—let’s wear it well! Always – stay with Sharon at The Write Talk! Talk to you later!

About sharonsbooks

I am a practical and contemporary urban writer who focuses on readers/participants who are high school age youth and adults. Although I currently write fiction and poetry, I am inspired to write about social and political issues in the sometimes subtle and other times blatant way that they are present in our everyday lives. I love humor and I strive to expand the thought process and create positive change. I realize today, in the scheme of things, that I know only a little. However, I would be remiss if I didn’t share what I’ve learned as I continue to develop my own growth process. In all my writings, I’ve always sought to convey a message from my spiritual center. This keeps me broad-minded regarding diversity and a willingness to learn from anyone and everyone.
This entry was posted in Culture, Diversity, Education, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

